Skip to content

to Toledo and Beyond

October 15, 2011

cathedral at segovia

Seems like a very long time since I last wrote up anything to add here but it’s because I’ve been too busy actually doing the stuff worth writing about!! Can’t be bad.  So lets see where to start. Probably the thing that amazed me the most was my visit to Gorafe with its 200 dolmens and canyon to rival the Grand Canyon in Arizona. My visit was a bit of a flier as I really didnt know what to expect but what I saw was so good that I’m planning a return overnight so I can walk to the dolmens and the caves which have been lived in forever.

From there I went on to Mojacar with a friend for a few days lazing on the beach. If it werent for the VERY noisy disco across the road it would have been poifect (as popeye says). Highlight of the trip for me was the day out at Playaso Beach near Rodalquilar which has a pirate style castle, a secret lagoon and rocks full of fossils. When I win the lottery I may consider buying somewhere near there–there’s a lot of old windmills that are particularly interesting.

So any way after that I was only home for a blink of an eye to check in on shamanic activity in my back room and then I was off on a road trip north to Cantabria. We left Granada in 35degrees and a day and half later we were in 17degrees. Mind you it seemed we had been through at least 4 countries as well. First stop was Toledo for lunch. I spent some time buying souvenirs for US family members as we were all born in Toledo Ohio. There was too much to see for a good quick visit and a bit too early to stop driving so we earmarked it for another time and carried on to Segovia to stay the night. Got there just in time for a local fiesta which is about bringing the local Virgin for a visit to the cathedral from her usual home just outside of town–so we saw the whole shebang–the highly overdressed statue being carried through the streets accompanied by somewhat mournful singing. Segovia itself is a knockout. so many wonderful buildings–the aqueduct–the medieval city around the cathedral, the views for miles–and also the incredible hayfever to be had from being in the midst of Spain’s bread basket.!!

After  passing through what appeared to be Switzerland we arrived in what appeared to be Devon which is Cantabria. I was staying in Comillas, a perfect jewel of a place. It has a population of only 2000 and yet a selection of architectural wonders and a history of royalty and power, even a little delight of a building by Gaudi. The sea is surrounded by grass covered cliffs  grazed by herds of cows giving an even more Devonish atmosphere (that and the low temperature and frequent rain). All in all its been an interesting summer with lots to think about for the winter.

Since my return I’ve also been helping at a shamanic retreat run by a friend on a mountaintop nearby. Met an interesting bunch of people and was privileged to share their experiences. And now I’m trying to pickle and preserve the remains of the fruit still dropping from my trees. Either that or sit down and watch some adolescent film on tv. Or play with my lovely Mojo, champion hunter of all times and caretaker of his humanoid keeper (me). Until next time.

the pirate castle at Playasothe cathedral at segovia

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

